October 27, 2020

Hon. Jean-Yves Duclos
President of the Treasury Board
90 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0R5
Via email: president@tbs-sct.gc.ca

Dear Minister Duclos,

As Chair of the Treasury Board Cabinet Committee, we write to you today as a united voice of Canadian farmers seeking the support of you and your cabinet colleagues in approving enhancements to the Business Risk Management (BRM) programs, specifically the Agri-Stability program. It is our expectation that in the coming weeks your cabinet committee will be asked to approve a submission to make improvements to Agri-Stability, ahead of the Agriculture Ministers Federal-Provincial-Territorial (FPT) meeting in late November.

In 2012, the Conservative government made changes to reduce the trigger and payment levels in the Agri-Stability program to 70 percent. This means that a farmer may only potentially receive payment if their production margin in the current year falls below their historical reference margin by 30 percent.

They also introduced a problematic reference margin limit (RML), which applies to producers whose allowable expenses are low in relation to Agri-Stability allowable income. For example, as shown in a case study submission from Meyers Norris Penny (MNP) to the Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food, under the 70% trigger and RML in place, a Saskatchewan grain farm would require a 51% drop in margins before triggering the program. Similar scenarios are happening all across Canada and across all commodities.

At the time of the change, farmer incomes were on the rise, market access was increasing, and trade barriers were being removed. However, in recent years we have seen increased market and trade volatility, more severe climate-related events, and increased cost of inputs. Agri-Stability coverage has not changed despite these significant challenges.

To reverse this course, we are requesting the payment trigger be immediately restored to 85 per cent of historical reference margins, with Reference Margin Limits removed. Farm groups are aligned with this request, thereby creating a clear, direct ask of government.

Agri-Stability is not perfect, but it is the best available program to support farmers impacted by factors outside of their control. The program is uniquely tailored to each farm's income, but at the current trigger level, it does not stabilize income and serves as more of a disaster recovery program at best. An improved program will also provide farmers with the confidence and assurance to make the necessary investments in their operations to lead Canada's economic recovery and growth in the future.

The federal/provincial cost-sharing ratio of 60/40 under the current program means any program enhancements may result in additional government expenditures for provincial governments who are already in difficult financial positions, which has caused challenges to moving forward. Some provinces, such as those in the Prairies, have been hard hit by other economic impacts such as declines in revenues from natural resource extraction, and face the potential of a larger financial burden from these changes due to a higher number of acres and farms in their provinces. In other instances, provinces such as British Columbia, Quebec, Prince Edward Island and Ontario have already moved ahead with various forms of enhancements to BRM programs without the support of the federal government, creating a patchwork of inconsistent support for those that need it.

It is however important to note that we are asking the government to commit to program changes, not for more money, necessarily. The only time these changes would trigger more government expenditures would be if producers are in times of financial distress, which does not equate to direct payments to farmers who have not faced large margin declines. We are asking for targeted support to farmers who need it most, when they need it most.

In 2019, nearly 40% of total farm income in the United States is expected to have come from government supports, with recent estimates finding that EU farmers receive 38% of their total income from public supports as well. In 2018, Canada's government support to farmers was only 3.6% of farm income. This directly affects Canadian farmers' ability to compete in international markets, leaving farmers at a distinct competitive disadvantage.

Prior to the pandemic, the federal government recognized the potential the sector has to fuel Canada's economic growth in both the 2017 Barton Report and by the report generated by the Economic Strategy Tables in 2018. By making these changes, not only will the federal government be honouring their commitment to increase federal support to the Agri-Stability program as outlined in both the Liberal Party of Canada's 2019 platform, and the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food mandate letter, but will be positioning our sector as a driver of Canada's economic recovery.

While the specifics of any program changes emerging from negotiations between federal, provincial and territorial governments remains to be seen, we hope we can count on you and your cabinet colleagues to fully support the submission for Treasury Board approval, in order the make these critical changes.

If you or your colleagues need any further information regarding these proposed changes, please do not hesitate to contact any of the signatories of this letter.

Sincerely,

















































L'Union des producteurs agricoles





KEYSTONE AGRICULTURAL PRODUCERS































































































Fraserland Organics Inc

Brent Harris Farms Ltd.

Camirlaney Farms Ltd.

Jeff Harris Farms Ltd.

Greenbelt Farms Ltd.

Fraserland Farms Ltd.

J&H Cranberries Ltd

Crescent Island Cranberries Ltd.

Yet Chong Farms Inc and Shui Chong Farms Inc







Association des producteurs maraîchers du Québec









Cc:

Right Honourable Justin Trudeau

Hon. Bardish Chagger

Hon. Chrystia Freeland

Hon. Catherine McKenna

Hon. Jonathan Wilkinson

Hon. François-Philippe Champagne

Hon. Mona Fortier

Hon. Dominic LeBlanc

Hon. Diane Lebouthillier

Hon. Mary Ng

Hon. Deborah Schulte

Hon. Filomena Tassi

Hon. Marie Claude Bibeau

Hon. John Horgan

Hon. Jason Kenney

Hon. Scott Moe

Hon. Brian Pallister

Hon. Doug Ford

Hon. François Legault

Hon. Stephen McNeil

Hon. Blaine Higgs

Hon. Dennis King

Hon. Andrew Furey

Hon. Sandy Silver

Hon. Caroline Cochrane

Hon. Joe Savikataaq

Hon. Lana Popham

Hon. Devin Dreeshen

Hon. David Marit

Hon. Blaine Pedersen

Hon. Ernie Hardeman

Hon. Andre Lamontagne

Hon. Keith Colwell

Hon. Hon. Margaret Johnson

Hon. Bloyce Thompson

Hon. Elvis Loveless

Hon. Ranj Pillai